Annual MSFCA Fire Prevention Poster Contest

The MSFCA poster contest is a great way for fire departments to get involved with local school districts. Students from kindergarten to 5th grade are encouraged to create a poster for a chance to be featured as the cover for an issue of the Fire Chief. Winners will also receive cash prizes. Each poster must follow the theme that is chosen for that year. Chiefs are encouraged to hold contests in each of the grade categories and may submit up to three posters in each grade category to the MSFCA editor. Chiefs may also opt to hold their own local contests.

The theme for the 2021 Poster Contest is: Learn the Sounds of Fire Safety

Poster Contest Rules:

  1. Posters must be on white construction paper with a maximum size of 12” x 18” and a minimum size of 11” x 17". Posters larger or smaller than this size will not be considered for awards.
  2. Each poster must clearly state the fire prevention theme.
  3. Conduct a fire prevention poster contest(s) under fire department sponsorship:
    1. Cooperate with local school officials in operation of the contest.
    2. Open contest to grade school students at one or all of the of the following levels: K-1; 2-3; 4-5.
  4. Each poster must have the Poster Contest Form attached to the back of the submitted poster.
  5. Assure all work is original.
    1. Select impartial judges, at least one of whom is qualified to rate entries on the basis of their fire safety message.
    2. Award local prizes at the discretion of the fire department.

Before December 31, 2021, mail up to three prize winning poster(s) from each grade level to:
Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association
6737 W. Washington St., Suite 4210
Milwaukee, WI 53214

Download the 2021 Poster Contest Flyer
Download the 2021 Poster Contest Form

Thank you to the National Fire Sprinkler Association (NFSA) for sponsoring the
Annual Poster Contest! 

Click here to view the 2020 winning posters.
Click here to view the 2019 winning posters.
Click here to view the 2018 winning posters.
Click here to view the 2017 winning posters.