Committee: Conference

Contact: Don Johnson, Chair - [email protected]

2020 Mission: The mission of the Conference Committee is to provide leadership and direction to the Executive Director, who is responsible for managing the annual conference in October of each year. This committee exists to make sure the needs of the membership, as it pertains to the conference, are met. This committee interfaces with the Education Committee, the Marketing Committee and vendor representatives to ensure that a quality conference is offered at an affordable cost. Every effort is made to ensure exceptional educational offerings for all attendees.

2020 Report: As you know, the pandemic has turned most of our lives upside down. The Board of Directors was forced to cancel the 2020 MSFCA Conference which would have just occurred a month or so ago. We all realize that the decision to cancel financially impacts not only the Association, but the vendors and non-profits that we interface with on an annual basis as well. 

At a Board meeting held on October 21, 2020, the topic of the 2021 Annual MSFCA was placed on the agenda for discussion. Normally, we would be discussing the successes and opportunities learned in October at this time. Instead, we were having a discussion on whether a 2021 Fall Conference is even viable. I’m sad to say that “back to business as usual” is not a term that anyone is quick to use at this point as we seem to be headed for more dark times with COVID-19. 

The decision was made to revisit the topic at the January Board meeting with the most up-to-date information we will have at that time. Although to some a decision in January may be pre-mature, the reality is based on the impacts to the Association and our partners in delaying a cancelation for too long. 

From the entire Conference Committee, we stand ready to execute whatever decision is made by the Board. We will work closely with the Education Committee, based on direction from the Board, on a condensed timeline if necessary.   

I sincerely hope we are looking at better news and outcomes than we are experiencing currently, both within the state and internationally as it comes to this pandemic. Be safe!

2020 Conference Committee Members

  • Chair: Fire Chief Don Johnson, Chanhassen
  • Committee Member - Awards Banquet Coordinator: Fire Chief Rodger Coppa, Plymouth
  • Committee Member - Memorial Service Coordinator: Fire Chief Andrew Heger, Victoria
  • Host City Fire Chief and Board of Directors Member: Fire Chief Shawn Krizaj, Duluth Committee Member: Battalion Chief Shane Gardner, Long Lake
  • Executive Board Member and Vendor Liaison: Fire Chief Mike Scott, Eagan
  • Committee Liaison - Education: Fire Chief Dale Specken, Hopkins
  • Committee Liaison - Marketing: Fire Chief Steve Koering, St. Louis Park
  • Committee Member – Memorial Service Support: Firefighter Sarah Anderson, Chaska

Conference Committee File Library