Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
Fire Officer Of The Year
Share |

MSFCA Fire Officer of the Year Awards 

Each year there are two Fire Officer of the year awards presented to very deserving members of the fire service. One award is presented to an officer from a city whose population is under 10,000 and the other award is presented to an officer whose city's population is over 10,000. These officers are nominated by peers and each winner receives an award and grant of $1,200 to be used by them or their department for a MSFCA approved project.

Up to two awards can be presented each year; one for a fire officer serving a small city or township (10,000 population or less), and one additional award open to fire officers with more than 10,000 population.

Individuals who are eligible for nomination and selection as Fire Officer of the Year are limited to active officers of departments. Qualified individuals include; Chief, Assistant Chief, Captain, Lieutenant, Training Officer, Fire Marshal, etc.

Selection criteria will emphasize leadership, innovation, professional development, integrity, service to the public and contributions to the fire service as a whole. All of a nominee's fire service activities and accomplishments will be considered, but, because this is the Fire Officer of the Year award, special emphasis will be placed on the last three year period. A nominee's command role at a major emergency incident, while relevant, will not be enough to place that individual into contention for the award. 

Submit Nominations

Click Here to Download Nomination Form

Click Here to Submit Nomination Online

Nomination Process
Nominations may be only submitted through the MSFCA Executive Director. The nominator is responsible for notifying their candidate and ensuring that s/he is willing to participate in our final selection process. 

Nomination Format
1. Official nomination form
2. Current résumé detailing the candidate's involvement in the fire service.
3. Up to six other documents supporting the candidate's nomination, such as award citations, newspaper articles, or letters of recommendation from appropriate elected or appointed officials.

No campaigning is permitted. The nomination form and supporting documents comprise the entire documentation for a candidate's nomination. Neither the nominee nor anyone representing him or her is to contact the awards committee member(s) once the nomination has been made and before the final selection has been made. Any violations of this will subject the nominee to disqualification. 

The deadline for nomination packages to be received at the MSFCA office is July 31st each year.

The Selection Process
The nomination packages will be reviewed by the MSFCA Awards Selection Subcommittee's appointed panel to select the winners. MSFCA reserves the right to omit an award. Winners will be announced and presentations made at the MSFCA Annual Conference. Photos will be published in the Quarter 4 issue of the Minnesota Fire Chief Magazine.

View Past Fire Officer of the Year Award Winners

Mailing Address
Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association
6737 W Washington St, Suite 4210
Milwaukee, WI, 53214


Contact Information
Office: 800-743-0911

Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association • 6737 W. Washington St. Ste. 4210 Milwaukee, WI 53214
MSFCA Office • 800-743-0911 •
Jennifer Rzepka, CAE •

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal