CODE COMMITTEE

The mission of the Code Committee is to develop the Minnesota fire code on an ongoing basis, to maintain an active posture of participation in the national model code process, to provide a forum for the identification, discussion and preparation of recommendations for fire code related issues submitted by any interested parties and to provide for the review of fire code related decisions.

It seems just like yesterday that the Code Committee completed the adoption process for the 2015 Minnesota State Fire Code. The new code celebrated its one year anniversary on May 2nd of this year. Since the adoption date the State Fire Marshal's office has spent countless hours training inspectors, building officials, engineers, industry representatives and architects throughout the State on the new code provisions, changes to existing code language and State amendments.

The committee met in November and April to discuss several topics that have resulted from changes within the various adopted codes and through legislation. They included photovoltaic systems in residential occupancies, clarification on the difference between a R-3 and R-3 dwelling unit, motor fuel-dispensing facilities, sprinkler backflow requirements and townhouse definitions to determine sprinkler requirements. It is anticipated that 2018 International Fire Code will be available for purchase in September. That means the committee will be ramping up to work on changes to the model code for adoption in 2020. Legislation requires the code to be adopted within 2 years from date of publication. Comparisons of the significant changes between 2012 to 2015 and the 2015 to 2018 will be reviewed.

The State Fire Marshal's office is currently going through a restructuring process due to retirements, promotions and vacancies within the organization. Jon Nisja will serve as a consultant to the committee while Kevin McGinty moves on to new responsibilities within the SFM office. Thank you both! A special thank you to Jon Nisja for the countless hours, days, weeks and years spent on tirelessly working through the code adoption processes and legislative actions that have formed the Minnesota State Fire Code we have today. Tom Jenson, Deputy State Fire Marshal, will continue

CODE COMMITTEE CONTINUED

to represent the SFM leaving one SFM representative position to be filled.

On behalf of the Committee I would like to welcome three new committee members: Forrest Williams, Supervisor of School Inspections at the SFM, John Hale Deputy Fire Chief at Brooklyn Park Fire Department representing MS-FCA, and Rich Hanson Vice President at ECSI representing the Automatic Fire Alarm Association (AFAA).

Respectfully Submitted, Laura McCarthy, Chair MSFCA Code Committee

The Code Committee is made up of several dedicated people from several different disciplines. During code adoption years we meet once a month for about a half day. We are always looking for chiefs with an interest in fire prevention and the codes, in particular chiefs from the greater Minnesota area. If you are interested in joining the Code Committee, please call me. We are looking to diversify the knowledge base of the committee with representation from as many applicable organizations as possible.

Code Committee Members:

Laura McCarthy – Fire Marshal, Bloomington FD – Committee Chair Marilyn Arnlund – Deputy Fire Marshal, Maple Grove Fire Department Rich Duysen, Fire Chief, Moorhead Fire Department Brad Feist, Fire Chief, Rogers Fire Department Ben Foster, Fire Inspector, City of Minneapolis Scott Futrell, Fire Protection Engineer, Futrell Fire Consult & Design, Inc. John Hale, Deputy Fire Marshal, Brooklyn Park Fire Department Rich Hanson, ESCI System Integrators Mallory Holmen, Sr. Fire Protection Engineer, 3M Tom Jenson, Deputy Fire Marshal, State Fire Marshal Division Roger Larson, BWBR, Architect Jerry Norman, Supervisor, Construction Codes & Licensing Division John Piper, Fire Chief, Coon Rapids Fire Department Mike Post, Fire Marshal, St. Cloud Fire Department Cary Smith, Fire Marshal, St. Louis Park Fire Department Dale Specken, Fire Chief, Hopkins Fire Department Angie Wiese, Fire Protection Engineer, City of St. Paul James Williamette, Plan Review Supervisor, St. Paul Department of Safety & Inspections Forrest Williams, Supervisor, State Fire Marshal Division Nyle Zikmund, SBM Fire Chief (Ret) TBD, State Fire Marshal Division

If you have any recommendations or questions, please contact Code Committee Chair Laura McCarthy at work: 952-563-8965 or through email at lmccarthy@bloomingtonmn. gov. The committee will help you as best as we can.