By-Law Committee

The mission of the By-Laws Committee is to work with and at the direction of the President of the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association to ensure the by-laws meet the needs of the Association.

At the direction of the Board of Directors, the Bylaws committee drafted language amending the Association bylaws and proposing revisions for the 2017 electronic election cycle. After extensive review by the Board of Directors, on April 21, 2017, the Board of Directors passed a resolution to submit changes to the Association Bylaws to the membership for action by the 2017 fall meeting. The following is a summary of the proposed changes to the bylaws that voting members will decide on by electronic ballot starting July 19. Balloting will end September 1st. There will need to be 300 votes cast to effectuate a bylaws change with each change being passing or failing based upon a majority of the 300 cast. If less than 300 votes are cast, the bylaws changes will fail.

2017 Bylaws Change Summary:

Technical Change - Section 2.1.1 – Capitalizes Fire Chief for purposed of defining the position. This is a simple grammatical clarification to make the language specific to Chief of Department.

Substantive Change -Section 4.2.1 – Eliminates language providing for the appointment by the President of the Board of Directors and defines voting members of the Board of Directors to include the directors elected from each region. Defines terms for elected and appointed directors. This will be the first time that the regional directors have been elected through a provision in the bylaws.

Technical Change - Section 4.2.3 – Defines the Parliamentarian as appointed by the President. This clarifies the selection of the Parliamentarian as the Regional directors are elected.

Technical Change - Sections 4.11 - Clarifying language in

the event that an elected or appointed director retires, resigns, or vacates their position.

Substantive Change – Section 5.1 – Changes the definition of the elected officers of the Association to include elected directors from each region and the effective election.

Substantive Change -Section 5.3 – Changes the term of all elected officers to commence at the fall membership meeting after the election results have been certified and presented to the membership.

Technical Change - Section 5.4 – Eligibility requirements changed to include elected directors.

Technical Change - Section 6.3 – Renumbered to 6.2.1 to reflect it as a subsection of 6.2. Changed committee and budget to plural to be inclusive of all committees and budgets.

Substantive Change – Section 7.3 – Removed the provision for placing names into nomination by any active member. With the removal of nominations from the floor and the elections being conducted electronically with candidates vetted by the Nominations and Elections committee, this statement becomes obsolete.

Ulie Seal, Chair, Bloomington Fire Mike Johnson, Owatonna Fire Department Mike Schutt, Hastings Fire Department Mike Scott, Eagan Fire Department Judy Thill, Inver Grove Heights Fire Department Nealon Thompson, Apple Valley Fire Department